Christmas Miracle?

Secret Santa
warning: salty water drops may fall from tear ducts due to the overwhelming acts of kindness.

This is one of the most inspiring things that I have seen in a very long time. This world is full of darkness; of cruelty; busyness; burdens. It seems like every time I turn around I hear terrible news; ‘dead body of an infant found..’ ‘man brutally murdered..’ ‘drug overdose..’ ‘woman beat to death..’ the list could go on for days. Some days it’s hard for me to remember that there IS still good in this world. As my friend over at Joseph Getsi’s blog posted just the other day:

This is the idea that God creates all things good. He did. He created you, me, your sister, your brother, your mom, your dad, your creepy uncle, the nasty boss at work, the smelly kid next to you on the boss, the corporate manager of Starbucks, the janitor that cleans your office, the person that cuts you off while driving, the sour old man yelling at the fast food clerk….ALL OF THEM, He created good. Yet so often I struggle in finding any good in myself.

The words make so much sense. I often forget that God created the world GOOD. I also think that it is really easy for me to point out all of the bad and complain about it without standing up and BEING the good of the world. Why is it so difficult at times to put those thoughts into action?

I spend a lot of time working with students in 8th grade through senior year of high school. We often have discussions about the natural pressures that we all feel from society, parents, friends, teachers, bosses, coworkers, siblings, etc. The world we live in has taught us to be complacent with the idea that it is perfectly acceptable… in fact in some causes it may be deemed unacceptable to stand up and do what is right. We’re supposed to tear each other down, right? Starting at a young age, we tell females they must be a size -4 in jeans and we tell males that they aren’t allowed to cry or feel any sort of emotion. We must remember that God created each person in His image, perfectly imperfect. God created those emotions. If we stopped worrying about what society thought, it’d be interesting to see how people lived.

This video perfectly depicts people standing up and being His light in this dark world. They in no way, shape, or form had to spend the time, effort, and money in order to surprise these families. That surprise was something that they decided to do out of the goodness of their hearts. I am truly inspired by their actions of kindness.

Although not everyone can go out and buy people presents that they ask for, we can all be His light in this dark, dark world. What are some ways that you can be His light? Currently, I’m trying to be His light by relying on Him throughout this holiday season. Family gatherings are not always perfect and uplifting. In my pain and annoyance of smart-ass remarks that aren’t always kind, actions that leave me feeling empty, and discussions that make my stomach churn… I am trying to remember to look to Him for guidance and peace. My strength to be the best family member that I can possibly be at this moment comes from Him and my willingness to listen. I say ‘trying’ because I’m not saying that I have all the answers or that I am always successful with these endeavors. Sometimes that light has flickered, and some nights, I’ve put the light out completely because it’s too hard, painful, or just too much effort. But I’m trying.

Thoughts?
Caroline

Leave a Reply

